Pishposh71's Blog


Day 584: Cool Kid

Posted in Re Inventing Me by pishposh71 on July 12, 2011

Last night was a 5K loop again. I got dressed and went out the door. Stood at the corner waiting for the AllSport GPS app to locate a signal before starting off.  Here comes my son Kieran aged 8 in his skateboarding shoes calling out to me that he wants to come.  I had my doubts about it in those shoes but that kid has an abundance of energy so I thought what the heck.

Am I proud of my kiddo? Hell ya! He did that 5k without a care, told me he broke a sweat twice and talked the ENTIRE time (my DNA=gift of gab).  Me? I found that it’s getting better, I could actually talk rather than pant out a few words here and there. We walked about a minute or two for the warm up than ran half way, walked another minute or two and ran the rest of the way. Lets be clear when I say run I mean a fast walking shuffle. Took us 40 minutes and 19 seconds. It was bloody hot as usual, in the 90’s someplace but a nice breeze here and there. I find speeding cars are also good for a breeze and heart attack adrenaline rush too.

We got home, high fived and I told him today I was going to write about how cool he is!!

After a quick brag to his dad we where out the back door and cooling down together.

I never in a million years would have thought that the pool would be a running tool.  When we put it in 5 years ago I thought it would be great to float in and drink daquaris by. Now the only time I get in it is to cool off from a run and let me be the first to say that first jump in is a slice of heaven.

Leave a comment