Pishposh71's Blog


Day 543: I am not alone

Posted in Uncategorized by pishposh71 on June 1, 2011

When you are overweight you tend to be comparing yourself to people around you.  Self perception is not the same as the world sees you in my opinion.  I have yet to decide if the world sees me as better or worse than I perceive myself, it depends on the day I guess.

Anyway last night we had a school council meeting and while I was there I noticed something. Of the group of ten woman around the table only 2 of them where really in good physical shape.  I chose shape because I can ascertain if they are in good health, just because one is a healthy body weight doesn’t mean that we are at our best. So eight of the ten woman are overweight (myself included) and the more I thought about it I realized that another six of the group would likely be classified as obese and not just overweight.

Why am I telling you this?

Well it made me realize that there are more woman out there who feel like I do. Maybe they hide it better than I did and some may not realize or care about their weight but they are there still the same.

Next time I am walking through Walmart comparing myself to some woman I consider superior to me physically I will remember that.  I am not alone in how I feel.

 

 

2 Responses to 'Day 543: I am not alone'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Day 543: I am not alone'.

  1. just me said,

    This is something I have been working on for this last year. My self body image is very low and I have to work hard to NOT compare myself to others all the time. The ironic thing is I wasnt like this before I lost 60lbs!! I was happy with myself and never really noticed others–except to admire in a positive way… go figure!

    • pishposh71 said,

      I think as woman its hard for us. When I was at my heaviest I was unhappy and compared myself to people all the time. Now I know that I am working to better myself and that counts for the most. If you are working on YOU (and from what I can tell by your blog, reading lists and thoughts you are!) then most likely you are better off than that other girl you are comparing yourself too. Dig deep and believe in yourself ❤


Leave a Reply

