Pishposh71's Blog


Day 523: What drives you?

Posted in Re Inventing Me by pishposh71 on May 12, 2011

What drives you?

What makes you want to succeed?

What makes this time different from other past attempts?

Really its easy once you make your mind up. Sure, there are days that you may struggle to stay on track, and hell, sometimes there are weeks that little or no progress is made but you cant dwell on that.  In the start I could beat myself up about not dropping a few pounds in a week but now it doesn’t matter as much.  I mean sure, I would love to drop 30lbs by next weekend but is it going to be the end of it all if I don’t? no.

The trick is to remember the positives of where you are at this point in time.  Rather than stressing about the fact that I haven’t lost any weight in the last few weeks I am focused on the things that I have achieved.  I have consistently gone to the gym and pushed myself through my workouts, I have started my running program and am really enjoying it, even more so when my daughter decided to come along with me, I have started to pay closer attention to my water consumption and I have identified an emotional food trigger (which I can  now avoid).  So although I would like a drop this week it will still be OK if I don’t have one.  I see physical changes in my body and they are starting to hold more significance than the scales numbers.  Today I noticed that my c section line (bellybutton to groin) is greatly improved. Its a really nice clean scar that will hardly show in the end.  When I started this the fat literally puckered up and made a canyon around that scar. So I have gone from the grand canyon to a small shallow stream for no better description.

Last night was a run night and as the weather was nice I got to have a street run.  I did 1.2 of the Couch 2 5k program which is the same as 1.1.  You do 5 minute warm up, the rotate 60 seconds of running with 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes then another 5 minute cool down. Once home I logged it all on mapmyrun and determined I managed to do 2.85km this time.  It tells me that I do about 6.4 km an hour.  Thats a combination of walking and running.  I was happy with this as my Monday run I did 2.5km so I was moving faster this time.  That maybe because of that rollerblading daughter I had with me?

As things stand my goal is to be able to “jog” the 5K in September in 40 minutes.  That goal may change if I improve greatly and my knees don’t fail me.

Leave a Reply

