Pishposh71's Blog


Day 471: Perspectives

Posted in Uncategorized by pishposh71 on March 21, 2011

I mentioned the horrible pictures I had taken of me in the bikini right?  Well I thought today I would elaborate more on this because it is important I think.

Those pictures reflect me after a year of working at it (minus a slip at Christmas) and in my opinion look just repulsive.  I guess that is why I refused to have the pictures taken in the very beginning.  I can’t imagine what they would have looked like with an additional 45+ pounds on me.  That said though it’s a good thing. I may hate them but I am now at a point that I am willing to own what I have done to my body rather that deal with it with my eyes closed.  I take something from that at least.

I was debating if I would post the pictures on here, or on my other site I write on just because there is a certain amount of shame in doing so.  Many people who read this know me personally and that’s different to showing total strangers right?

That said I came across another woman who is starting the same challenge as me.  She is 35 years old and is currently 300 lbs having lost 40 lbs to date.  Here she is in her two piece suit with her front, back and side shots. She is totally owning it for what it is.  I was really moved by her commitment to doing this. You can see the pain on her face as the pictures are being taken.

It made me think about my own pictures.  I may hate them but I could still smile in them.  The silly candid ones of me playing with my blubber really catch the spirit of the girl that I am.   I am so thankful that I am at that point with this.

So I may think that my journey is a long hard road but at the same time I need to remember that there are other people who have it much harder than I do.  I am fortunate to have a wealth of information available to me and friends who can lead me on the road to success.  I don’t have any major medical conditions to hinder my progress like diabetes or high blood pressure.

Today the grass is looking pretty green on my side. I am appreciative of how good I have it.  That said I will do anything I can to help out those who are not as fortunate as I am.

Today I am content.

Leave a Reply

