Pishposh71's Blog


DAy 430: Crazy Little thing called Potassium

Posted in Uncategorized by pishposh71 on February 8, 2011

I can honestly say that this time last year I wasnt really putting much thought into what nutrients entered my body.  I was merely a numbers crunch to make sure that I stayed below the 1500 calorie a day mark.  Most those calories where pretty good but some came from pre packaged foods like rice cakes and other low-calorie diet aids.

This year I have started looking at things a little differently thanks to the great features on the calorie count website.  The nutritional breakdown on my daily foods has become a real eye opener for me.

The last 2 weeks I have eaten really well, better than I have ever eaten in my life.  That said I have noticed a consistent shortfall in certain areas.  Not once in the last 2 weeks have I met my daily required intake of potassium, iron and calcium. The potassium is my largest failing with a usual intake of about 18%.

SO I decided to research what exactly the use is. This is what I found.

Helps with pituitary function and aids in the treatment of depression.
✻ Plays a huge role in muscle contraction and enhances muscle performance.
✻ Protects the heart against hypertension and stroke.
✻ Stimulates all types of fluid, lymph and detox channels.
✻ Potassium alkalinizes intracellular fluid.
✻ Important for energy metabolism, nerve impulses (rapid-firing of nerves) and brain performance.
✻ Keeps the heart healthy by generating muscle contraction and regulating the heartbeat.
✻ Functions in carbohydrate metabolism, converts glucose to glycogen to be used for energy.
✻ Potassium has a high affinity with oxygen, thereby increasing tissue oxygenation and oxygenating the brain for clear thinking.

What does this tell me?   Well clearly I need to get this up to an acceptable percentage, along with the iron and the calcium.

2 Responses to 'DAy 430: Crazy Little thing called Potassium'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'DAy 430: Crazy Little thing called Potassium'.

  1. Kathy Duchesne said,

    so where do you get potassium besides banana’s

  2. pishposh71 said,

    I guess that a good blog entry for next week then 🙂 where to get potassium! Will do


Leave a Reply

