Pishposh71's Blog


Day 69: Reiki

Posted in Re Inventing Me by pishposh71 on January 13, 2010
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I write this post with a little trepidation.  This place is for me to write about my feeling and thoughts on my life and experiences in weight loss but at the same time its a public forum of sorts.  I like to send my white noise out there, I consider it a healthy way to live expressing myself and in most cases I am glad to know that some may enjoy a laugh or a thought from what they have read here.  Today I feel uncertain about that, however I will continue in good faith and hope that I’m not judged or thought peculiar.

My mother has often refered to me as soulless, usually in conjunction to something I’ve stated about myself.  Things like, I couldn’t live any distance from a Wal-Mart, I like the hustle bustle of an urban life, I like pancakes made from box mix, all things like this.  I consider myself a person with soul, I believe that I feel strongly and deeply in the things that matter around me.  My mother may have soul with the earth she lives on and the animals around her but her connection to my definition of “soul” is non existant ironically. Gone.  Prehaps our definitions are different and what she really means is she sees me as shallow with no depth pf character….I’m actually pretty sure that would be about right.

I think I am procrastinating writing about today’s topic so I shall stop and get to the point.

Last night I attended a Reiki session done by my sister-in-law.  I should start off saying that the family history leaves a lot to be desired and the offer to do this was a surprise in itself.  I am a strong believer in fate and that things do happen for a reason.  I am not sure I would have survived my life to this point if I didn’t think this way.  So I decided that this was a part of my journey and that I should take every opportunity offered to me on my way.  I was uncertain, nervous and yet open to the experience.  I figured whatever it was I could at least say that I tried.

I guess I should start with a definition of Reiki, because I had no idea what it was.

“Reiki is based on the belief that when spiritual energy is channeled through a reiki practitioner, the patient’s spirit is healed, which in turn heals the physical body.”(Medicinenet.com)

So there you have it. If your sceptical at this point then don’t bother reading on.

Much like a good spa day I had relaxing music, a table to lay on, a heavy cotton blanket and the smells of burnt spices.  I closed my eyes and told myself to open my mind to all possibilities.  She moved slowly around my body, a lot of time around my head.  I could feel a pulling sensation and warmth while she did my head. (Don’t judge)  She knew that my one side of my body was troubled, my knee she knew about before arriving but my ankle and veins are not public knowledge.  She described a woman trying to hand her a box with something in it for me.  It was something she had made. She described the woman to me and said that she wanted to help me if she could.  She wanted me to know my mom had a hard life.  So this woman is my grandmother who died just over a year ago.  Not the person I thought would be associated with me if something was going to happen in this experience though.  A man made a brief appearance but we did not find who it was.  The name Helen was mentioned but I cannot make a connection to it.  One of my daycare children came up, a boy that she felt I had a connection too but that irritated me at times. Really that could be a number if it was just the irritated part but the connection part made me know which child immediately.

It was a very emotional experience for me and having it with her was a rather odd thing.  I thought that I would feel very uncomfortable given the history but it was not like that.  I can’t really explain it well enough.  I went in expecting nothing but left feeling different.  Not sure if that makes sense or not.

Well anyway that was the experience, I would happily do it again for what its worth.

As always, I wish you all a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

